Currency standards

The Danish currency is kroner and øre. There are 100 øre in one kroner. In Danish and English, kroner is shortened to kr. You may also see DKK used, particulary with regards to currency transactions.

In Denmark, you will see notes in values of 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1,000kr. Coins come in 1, 2, 5,10 and 20kr, as well as 50 øre.

Denmark is not in the single European currency, so the Euro is a foreign currency and not legal tender.

Importing and exporting currency

There are no restrictions on the amount of currency you are allowed to import or export, but anything over €10,000 (approximately 75,000kr) must be declared.

Further reading

Read more about the regulations at the National Bank’s website.